Home > scholarly publications > What makes a good workshop paper

What makes a good workshop paper

I have been actively involved as a reviewer for both workshops and conferences. Although the end goal of any reviewing exercise is to recommend the submissions for acceptance or rejection, I notice that I tend to apply vastly different acceptance criteria to workshops and conferences. For a workshop paper, my primary acceptance criteria is whether the paper presents new ideas that can spark discussions at the workshop. I tend to consider the issues of how complete the implementation and validation are as secondary for a workshop paper.

In deciding whether to recommend a workshop submission for acceptance, I ask myself the following question: how likely would pursuing the ideas outlined in this paper lead to solid conference publications in the future, once all the required implementation and validation have been properly carried out? In my book, meeting this criteria is what makes a successful workshop submission.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

