Home > Uncategorized > Hello blogging!

Hello blogging!

Well, I have resisted as long as I could, but today I have decided to start blogging. Due to the nature of my job as a college professor, I get to talk to a lot of people every day: students, fellow faculty members, researchers in other institutions, friends outside of academia, etc. Several of my daily acquaintances have pointed out that they find my observations and insights amusing and suggested that I start blogging.

The purpose of this blog is to share some my random thoughts and observations. I do research in software systems and enjoy discussing ideas, related to software system research or anything else. Thus, the title of this blog: SSS: Software, Systems, and Solipsism.

Why solipsism? One of the definitions of the word is “a perspective based on one’s own individual situation rather than a multiperson perspective.” In that sense, the views expressed here are mine alone and not those of my employer or any other party.

I would not want anyone to take my opinions and thoughts too seriously–they are just ramblings of a struggling academic. Why struggling? For an academic insider, the answer is obvious. For outsiders, let me point out that research is one of the most intellectually challenging human endeavors. Furthermore, the current research funding climate in this country complicates the pursuit of an academic research career even further. I hope to be able to share my further thoughts on this and other subjects in this blog.


Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

